Primal Turkey Eggplant Lasagna

Now that I have beautified my kitchen cabinets so they aren’t so depressing it’s time to get back to the food!

Whenever I shop at Berkeley Bowl I generally roam the produce aisles to see what looks good. More so than anything else though I live out of their bargain bins. I’ll tell you a little more about the magic that is the bargain bin in a later post.

Recently, the man has been sad over missing real cookies, real pasta, etc.  Ever since adopting a more grain/gluten free diet I don’t make those huge pasta dishes and batches of cookies, which I used to do in our college days because I was cooking for him and 2 other very sizable dudes. Think heavyweight boxer and athletic runner who just keeps eating.  (Just as a side note I was cooking for them mostly because I like cooking. There was no “Men hungry! Woman make food!”.  That would not have gone so smoothly)   So on my latest trip to the bowl I hauled back some eggplant and lots of tomatoes amongst other things with hearty italian on the mind.

Replacing the noodles with eggplant is a pretty old trick in the book, but I hadn’t tried it yet as I usually rely on spaghetti squash or zucchini stripped into noodles with my handy dandy julienne peeler.  In my opinion, lasagna has a much more robust and thick feel to it compared to a bowl of spaghetti or linguini.  With those thoughts in mind I set about making eggplant lasagna.  I had ground turkey in the freezer so it became a turkey eggplant lasagna, however, I’m sure any other ground meat would be delicious.  I also realize this is my 4th or 5th turkey post, but that’s just what I had on hand so bear with me.  I promise you some other type of protein in the near future.

Due to scheduling I ended up preparing my lasagna ahead of time and leaving directions for it to be popped in the oven by the man later on that evening so I wouldn’t have to wait much longer after my work shift.  The whole thing turned out quite tasty and I’d say a worthwhile repeat.  Making an almond meal parmesan mixture to sprinkle on top would’ve probably made it even better.  Perhaps next time.

Here’s the finished product!

noms : )

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

