Holiday Recap & Blendtec

Holy Moly BATMAN! Christmas is gone and the year is almost over again.  It’s hard to believe that another 365 days has passed so quickly.  I remember when I was a youngin and every year felt like an eternity.  I guess time really does fly as you get older.  I suppose I better make this lifetime worthwhile then huh?

 

On that note I’d say this holiday was a fabulous one!  And that’s not only because I got some pretty awesome gifts, but mostly because I was able to spend quality time with my family.  I spent Christmas Eve with the grandparentals, aunt and uncle.  My grandmother is frequent church goer, despite the rest of us ranging from less than enthusiastic to you can skin me before I attend a religious gathering. However, this year we all went together with her, which was very enjoyable.  I had actually never realized my grandmother goes to a gospel church, so the sermon was primarily a concert and it was fun to see how happy my Big PoPo was to have all of us there.

Christmas Day was spent with Mynchia, where we enjoyed some early morning refreshments…..

Irish Coffee

Egg Nog with Brandy

hung around the tree and decorations,

He was a fat tree

Happy Family!

Happy Family!

and opened presents.

: )

We be matching! Ha

 

We actually were scrambling looking for eggnog in the hours before, but couldn’t find any so I made due with Healthful Pursuit’s recipe, which was so much better than store bought, especially since I added extra spices in the name of clove and ginger.

 

This year I tried my hand at DIY wrapping paper and I was quite pleased with the outcome.

Simple and pretty

I got the idea from The Sweetest Occasion.

 

Running with that theme were the sugar scrubs and bath salts I made.

Ikea has the best jars

 

Adapted from Balanced Bites and Health Green Kitchen.  I ended up adding grapeseed oil to both in order to thin out the scrub and because I lacked almond oil.

They made for great gifts at the White Elephant Party we attended, where I won the best gift ever!

SNUGGIE!! and a reading light!

 

The man was highly disappointed in me when I sent him this picture, especially because I even devised a plan to steal my beloved Snuggie back. It was completely and totally worth it. I have no shame.

 

Lastly, I don’t know if this is compares to my Snuggie ; D , but I also got a Blendtec, which I have to say is one of the best kitchen tools I’ve ever owned.  This thing is a beast! It has preset settings for different types of blender jobs.  When the man and I made a smoothie we were both blown away by the technology of the thing.  First it just churned the bottom chunks before going high speed OMG and making smoothie amazingness.  No lumps, no bumps, just delicious.

happiness

 

It is great for soups, nut butters, and making nut flours.  I’m pretty stoked about it and you should be too, because it means more noms for you cyber world! Wahoo!

So I leave you with a recipe for a Smokey Tomato Soup, which just hits the spot in this chilly winter weather.

I know you want a bowl of this right about now

 

How was your holiday?  Did you do anything special?

 

2 thoughts on “Holiday Recap & Blendtec

Leave a Reply

