Turkey Fest Part II

*Sorry for the delay. I forgot my lappy at Mynchia’s house on the big day and did not get a chance to retrieve any of it until last night.

As my bird is brining away today I needed to get down and work on some of my side dishes for the nomful day looming ahead.

First off, this is what I’m planning on making for the big day:

Carrot Cake – ala the Food Lovers

Cranberry Salsa – borrowed from Kalyn’s Kitchen

Grain Free Gravy

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower Puree

Roasted Beet Salad With Goat Cheese

Kale Salad – borrowed from Food Gal

Big Ass Bird – borrowed from the LA Times

Party guests will be contributing other Thanksgiving favorites, which I’ll happily eat when the day comes.  After passing out from food coma I will then share with you cyber family the rest of the noms : )

Now for the food prep game plan….

Carrot Cake
  • Bake the cake
  • Make the icing
  • Assemble it on Turkey Day
Cranberry Salsa
  • Made it on Sunday
Grain Free Gravy
  • Make it today
    • I suggest making it earlier though : )
Roasted Garlic Cauliflower Puree
  • Make it today
Roasted Beet Salad
  • Roast the beets today
  • Make dressing day of and assemble
Kale Salad
  • Make dressing today
  • Assemble morning of Thanksgiving
  • (In retrospect it tasted better after sitting for a whole day, perhaps next time)
Big Ass Bird
  • Let it brine today
  • Cook it tomorrow

And this is how I felt at about 11:30pm

Leave a Reply

